Tag Archive | GSLV

Indian Space Research Organization

Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) was established in August 1969 by two pioneer scientists of India – Vikram Sarabhai and Homi Bhabha with a vision to harness space technology for national development, while pursuing space science research exploration. Headquarter of ISRO is in Antariksh Bhavan, Bangalore. ISRO successfully launched its first satellite Aryabhata in 1975 with the help of space launching vehicle of Soviet Union. However, Rohini was the first Indian satellite which was placed in orbit by Indian launching vehicle, SLV–3 in 1980. Presently the organization is headed by Dr. Kailasavadivoo Sivan.

Read More…