Birth of a New State: Telangana

The fate of the 29th state of India- Telangana was sealed, when the President gave his assent to the Andhra Pradesh (Reorganization) Bill (click here to download the bill document). With this, another chapter has been added to the Indian polity.

With the announcement, Celebrations begun in Hyderabad and all across Telangana as the separate state is set to become a reality at the stroke of midnight.



Telangana would come into existence as the 29th state of India and Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) president K Chandrasekhar Rao is scheduled to assume office as chief minister. TRS, Congress and other political parties as well as pro—Telangana groups have lined up a series of programmes to celebrate the formation of the new state.

The chief architect of the separate Telangana agitation, K. Chandrasekhar Rao, was sworn in Chief Minister of Telangana. Mr. Rao’s son K. Taraka Rama Rao and nephew T. Harish Rao, who took active part in the agitation, were among the 11 Cabinet Ministers sworn in at a simple ceremony, punctuated by slogans of ‘Jai Telangana’. Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan administered the oath of office.

Mohammed Mahmood Ali, T. Rajaiah, Naini Narasimha Reddy, Eatala Rajender, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, T. Padma Rao, P. Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna and G. Jagadeeshwar Reddy are the other Cabinet Ministers. Mr. Ali and Mr. Rajaiah were later named Deputy Chief Ministers. Barring Mr. Ali, who opted for Urdu, all the others took oath in Telugu.


What is the Issue: Background?

  • 1948: Indian Army annexed princely state of Hyderabad, which comprised different regions including Telangana.
  • Nov 1, 1956: Telangana merged with Andhra State, which was carved out of Madras State, to form Andhra Pradesh, a united state for Telugu—speaking people.
  • 1969: ‘Jai Telangana’ movement for separate statehood to Telangana began. Over 300 people killed in police firing.
  • 1972: ‘Jai Andhra’ movement began in coastal Andhra for separate Andhra State.
  • 1975: Presidential order issued to implement Six Point Formula, providing some safeguards to Telangana.
  • 1997: BJP supported demand for Telangana state; in 1998 election, it promised ‘one vote two states’
  • 2001: K. Chandrasekhara Rao floated Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to revive Telangana movement.
  • 2004: TRS fought elections in alliance with Congress, wins five Lok Sabha and 26 assembly seats. UPA includes Telangana issue in common minimum programme.
  • 2008: TDP announced support for Telangana demand.
  • 2009: TRS contested elections in alliance with TDP but its tally came down to two Lok Sabha and 10 assembly seats.
  • Sep 2: Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy died in helicopter crash, triggering political uncertainty.
  • Oct 2009: Chandrasekhara Rao began fast—unto—death for Telangana state.
  • Dec 9: Centre announced decision to initiate the process for formation of Telangana state.


How did Telangana take Shape:

  • Dec 23, 2009: Following protests in Rayalaseema and Andhra regions (Seemandhra) and en masse resignations of MPs and state legislators, centre put the process on hold citing need for consensus.
  • Feb 3, 2010: Centre set up five—member Srikrishna committee (download Srikrishna committee reportto look into Telangana issue.
  • Dec 2010: Srikrishna committee submitted its report, suggested six options
  • July 30, 2013: UPA coordination panel and Congress Working Committee decided to carve out Telangana state. Protests in Seemandhra.
  • Oct 3, 2013: Union cabinet approved the proposal to divide Andhra Pradesh. A Group of Ministers (GoM) was constituted to prepare the roadmap after consultations with all stakeholders.
  • Oct 25, 2013: Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy raised banner of revolt against Congress leadership. He wrote letters to president and prime minister urging them to stop bifurcation process.
  • Dec 5, 2013: Union cabinet approved draft Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2013 prepared on the basis of recommendations by the GoM. Bill sent to President Pranab Mukherjee with a request to make a reference to Andhra Pradesh legislature to obtain its views under Article 3 of the Constitution.
  • Dec 9, 2013: The President gave time till Jan 23 to the state legislature to give its views.
  • Dec 12, 2013: Bill brought to Hyderabad in a special aircraft and amid tight security.
  • Dec 16, 2013: Bill introduced in both houses of state legislature amid clashes between Seemandhra and Telangana lawmakers.
  • Jan 8, 2014: After disruptions for several days, debate finally began on the bill in assembly and council.
  • Jan 21, 2014: State government sought four more weeks to debate the bill. The President gave one week.
  • Jan 27, 2014: Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy gave notice to assembly speaker for a resolution to reject the bill.
  • Jan 30, 2014: Amid ruckus, both houses of state legislature passed by a voice vote official resolutions, rejecting the bill and appealing to the President not to send the bill to parliament.
  • Feb 7, 2014: Union cabinet cleared the bill and rejected Seemandhra leaders’ demand to make Hyderabad a union territory. Bill sent to the President for his approval to table it in parliament.
  • Feb 11, 2013: Congress expelled six MPs from Seemandhra for moving no—confidence motion against government.
  • Feb 13, 2014: Bill introduced in Lok Sabha amid clashes between MPs from Seemandhra and Telangana. L. Rajagopal, a MP from Seemandhra, used pepper spray in the house. Speaker suspended 16 MPs including Rajagopal for rest of the session.
  • Feb 18, 2014: Lok Sabha passes Telangana bill

What is the Law?

Salient feature of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Bill-

  • Hyderabad as the common capital, with Andhra Pradesh Governor as the Governor for both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.
  • The Centre will set up an apex council for the supervision of Krishna and Godavari rivers on water sharing.
  • 25 Lok Sabha seats to be allocated to residuary Andhra Pradesh and 17 Lok Sabha seats to Telangana.
  • Residuary Andhra Pradesh would get 175 Legislative Assembly seats and Telangana 119.
  • Existing admission quotas in all government or private, aided or unaided institutions of higher, technical and medical education shall continue for 10 years.
  • The Polavaram Irrigation Project will be declared as a national project and the Center will take its control.
  • The High court of Hyderabad will be common for the states till a separate High Court is instituted for residuary Andhra Pradesh.
  • Any dispute, regarding financial assets and liabilities shall be settled through mutual agreement, or by the Center’s order on the advice of the CAG.
  • All properties situated outside existing Andhra Pradesh will be apportioned between the two states proportionally.
  • Greyhound and Octopus forces of the existing Andhra Pradesh will be distributed after seeking opinions from the personnel.

The award made by the 13th Finance Commission to the existing state of Andhra Pradesh will be apportioned between the two by the Centre on the basis of population and other factors.

Please discuss if you have any query or confusion.

Team Aspirant Forum

© Aspirantforum


Tags: , , , , , ,

About aspirantforum

a curious mind, eager to share and spread what is known.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: