About Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

National Emblem

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) means a lot to the lakhs of aspirants in India, who compete before the commission to get themselves recruited in the Indian Civil Services. In order to maintain the impartiality and objectivity of the recruitment process, the Constitution of India provides for an Independent Commission, that is the UPSC, to recruit, conduct and manage the related affairs of the public services in India.

Thus, the UPSC has been constituted as an independent body to oversee the recruitment process of the civil services in India. In accordance with the provisions contained in Article 320 of the Constitution read with the provisions of Union Public Service Commission (Exemption from Consultation) Regulations 1958, Recruitment Rules of all Group ‘A’ and Group ‘B’ posts in various Ministries/Departments of Government of India are required to be framed in Consultation with the Commission.

UPSC is India’s central agency authorized to conduct the following examinations:


Civil Service Examination (CSE) Engineering Services Examination
Combined Defence Services Examination (CDS) National Defence Academy Examination (NDA)
Indian Economic Service/Indian Statistical Service Examination (IES/ISS) Special Class Railway Apprentice (SCRA)
Central Armed Police Forces (Assistant Commandants) Examination (CAPF) Geologists’ Examination
Combined Medical Services Examination (CMS) Naval Academy Examination

The genesis of the UPSC goes back to the British-rule period, when the recruitment to the public services was done by the English government.


Indianisation of the superior Civil Services became one of the major demands of the political movement compelling the British Indian Government to consider setting up of a Public Service Commission for recruitment to its services in the territory.

The Royal Commission on the Superior Civil Services in India under the Chairmanship of Lord Lee, gave its Report in 1924, and recommended the setting up of the Public Service Commission.

This led to the establishment of the first Public Service Commission on October 1, 1926 under the Chairmanship of Sir Ross Barker. The limited advisory function accorded to the Public Service Commission and the continued stress on this aspect by the leaders of our freedom movement resulted in the setting up of a Federal Public Service Commission under the Government of India Act, 1935.

The Federal Public Service Commission became the Union Public Service Commission after Independence and it was given a Constitutional status with promulgation of Constitution of India on January 26, 1950.

Composition of the Commission

The Commission consists of a Chairman and ten Members. The terms and conditions of service of the Chairman and Members of the Commission are governed by the Union Public Service Commission (Members) Regulations, 1969.

The Chairman and other members of the UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) are appointed by the President of India. At least half of the members of the Commission are Civil Servants (working or retired) with minimum ten years of experience either in Central or State service.

Every member holds office for a term of six years or until he attains the age of sixty-five years, whichever is earlier.

He can submit his resignation at any time to the President of India. He may be removed from his office by the President of India on the ground of misbehavior (only if an inquiry of such misbehavior is made and upheld by the Supreme Court) or if he is adjudged insolvent, or engages during his term of office in any paid employment outside the duties of his office, or in the opinion of the President unfit to continue in office by reason of infirmity of mind or body.

UPSC is amongst the few institutions which function with both autonomy and freedom along with the country’s higher judiciary and the Election Commission.

At Present, the members of the UPSC include:


  1. No.
Name of the Member
1. Prof. D. P. Agarwal  (sir has retired!! after the long struggle against the pro-changers)
2 Smt. Rajni Razdan (new chairman)
3 Smt. Alka Sirohi
4 Prof. David R. Syiemlieh
5 Shri Manbir Singh
6 Shri Amar Pratap Singh
7 Vice Admiral (Retd.) D. K. Dewan
8 Shri Vinay Mittal
9 Dr. (Mrs.) P. Kilemsungla
10 Shri Chhatar Singh

Team Aspirant Forum

© AspirantForum

Tags: , , ,

About aspirantforum

a curious mind, eager to share and spread what is known.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: